At the December 1 organizational meeting of Mason City Council, four Council members elect were sworn in to serve a 4-year term. Members Ashley Chance and Diana Nelson will return to Council to serve a new term, Michael Gilb returns having served on Council previously from February 2009 – November 2011 and T.J. Honerlaw will serve his first term as a Council member.  All four terms run through November 30, 2021.

Three or four Council members are elected at-large in odd-numbered years. The city’s charter calls for an organizational meeting on the first day of December in odd-numbered years. At that meeting, a mayor and vice mayor are selected by the Council members from among their members. In addition to duties as a Council member, the Mayor presides over Council meetings, acts as the ceremonial head of the city, and administers oaths. The Vice Mayor assumes these duties in the absence of the mayor.

Victor Kidd was named to another term as Mayor and Barbara Berry-Spaeth was also named to her second term as Vice Mayor.


Comments are closed.